Hon Andrew Little

Minister of Justice Minister for Courts

Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Minister Responsible for the NZSIS

Minister Responsible for the GCSB

Minister Responsible for Pike River Re-entry



0 1 1111 2020

Gary Thompson Chair

Ngāti Paoa Iwi Trust

Danella Roebeck & Hauāuru Howard Rawiri Co-chairs

Ngāti Paoa Trust Board

Morehu Wilson Mandated Negotiator

Tēnā koutou

Ratification of the Ngāti Paoa Deed of Settlement

Following careful consideration of the ratification processes for the Ngāti Paoa Deed of Settlement, we have agreed the results show sufficient support from Ngāti Paoa iwi members for the Crown and Ngāti Paoa to enter into the settlement.

Ngāti Paoa iwi members supported the Deed, the Point England alternative offer and the transfer of the Waiheke Station Farm to the Ngāti Paoa Iwi Trust, the post-settlement governance entity for Ngāti Paoa. There will be no change to the Farm's land status. The Deed will now be updated in preparation for it being signed. The Deed can be signed once remaining overlapping interests have been addressed.

Morehu Wilson and Hauāuru Eugene Rawiri have been supported to sign the Deed for and on behalf of Ngāti Paoa iwi members. The trustees of the Ngāti Paoa Iwi Trust, as the post-settlement governance entity for Ngāti Paoa, will also need to sign the Deed.

We are advised elections for all trustee positions of the Ngāti Paoa lwi Trust are due to be completed by 1 October 2020. We encourage you to take steps to ensure this occurs as we must ensure there are elected representatives in place to receive and administer the settlement redress on behalf of Ngāti Paoa.

It has been a long journey for Ngāti Paoa to reach this stage of the Treaty settlement process. We congratulate you on reaching this very significant milestone.

We intend to publish a copy of this letter on www.govt.nz/treaty-settlement-documents/ngati-paoa/ to enable Ngāti Paoa iwi members to be informed directly of our decision on the ratification results.

Nā māua

Hon Andrew Little

Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Hon Nanaia Mahuta Minister for Māori Development